Literacy Field Guide Guiding Principles

The fundamental guiding principles of the Literacy Field Guide are based on the Multi-tiered Systems of Supports (MTSS) framework. A Multi-Tiered System of Supports is an evidence based model of schooling that uses data-based problem solving to integrate academic and behavioral instruction and intervention. The integrated instruction and intervention is delivered to students in varying intensities (multiple tiers), based on student need. “Need driven” decision making ensures that district resources reach the appropriate students and schools at the appropriate levels, to accelerate the performance of ALL students to achieve and/or exceed proficiency.

For this effort to be successful, it is important to recognize that students have varying needs and that correspondingly varying levels of support will be necessary for all students to master the standards. A multi-tiered system of supports provides the framework for organizing the supports that will ensure student success. The critical elements of MTSS includes the following four components:

  • Curriculum standards
  • Assessment used to inform instruction
  • Multi tiers of instruction and intervention
  • Data-based problem-solving used to make decisions

For more information on MTSS click here.